#theword Life Journal day 360 / Psalm 117, 119:81-176, 2 John 1, 3 John 1

Psalm 119:162-165 ESV

I rejoice at your word

like one who finds great spoil.

I hate and abhor falsehood,

but I love your law.

Seven times a day I praise you

for your righteous rules.

Great peace have those who love your law;

nothing can make them stumble.

Oh how I love that God put Psalm 119 in the word for us to read and meditate on.  This psalm is so pure and so true.  It is a perspective of one who properly evaluates the word of God.  The psalmist expresses over and over again how precious, how valuable, how powerful are the statues and ordinances of the Lord our God.  He speaks from the same Spirit that wrote the word.  For it is our flesh and our selfish pride that hates the word of God. 

Unfortunately I can not say that I share such a passion for the Truth as this beloved psalmist.  I wish it were so.  I desire not to sin against my God it is true.  I love having a right relationship with my Lord.  But I am lacking in passion for the Word.  I know it is Truth.  I know it edifies my soul.  I know that it shines bright and disperses the darkness and the lies.  I know that it is far more precious than all that I would find on this dying planet. Yet I am drawn to so many things that lack any real value to me. I desire and long for frivolous things that would destroy me if I let them.

Father I pray this, would you put in me the desire for your Truth of the psalmist? Would you decrease within me the desire for earthly possessions and increase a love for your Word? I want to be wise in all of your ways and simple in all the ways of this world. I want to consume your ordinances like sweet dessert. I desire to love you with all that I am. But I can not as long as I still have a longing for anything but you oh Lord. Lord thank you for hearing my prayer. I know that the things that I ask will be true one day. Can they be true today?