#Davidsmercy Canonical Bible reading day 92 / 1 Samuel 21-24

1SA 24:8-12 ESV

Afterward David also arose and went out of the cave, and called after Saul, “My lord the king!” And when Saul looked behind him, David bowed with his face to the earth and paid homage. And David said to Saul, “Why do you listen to the words of men who say, “Behold, David seeks your harm”? Behold, this day your eyes have seen how the Lord gave you today into my hand in the cave. And some told me to kill you, but I spared you. I said, “I will not put out my hand against my lord, for he is the Lord ‘s anointed.” See, my father, see the corner of your robe in my hand. For by the fact that I cut off the corner of your robe and did not kill you, you may know and see that there is no wrong or treason in my hands. I have not sinned against you, though you hunt my life to take it. May the Lord judge between me and you, may the Lord avenge me against you, but my hand shall not be against you.

This is an amazing man.  I can see why God says that David is a man after his own heart.  This is a man that is innocent with regards to his King Saul.  He has been loyal and fought valiantly for his king.  He defends King Saul and is his servant.  He bows to the wishes of the King.  But the King is exceedingly jealous to the point of insanity and without cause. 

God has blessed David to not only keep him from the sword and spear of King Saul but to even deliver King Saul unto to David so that he could kill him.  God has done this and anointed David to be the next King too.  But David does what is unthinkable for any man.  He chooses the road less traveled.  He chooses to preserve the King who has in anger attempted to kill him numerous times.  Surely by preserving the life of King Saul means that there will be more attempts by him to kill David.  But David does not choose the easy way out.  Though God himself delivered King Saul unto his hand, he does not strike. 

David is a remarkable man, a man after God’s own heart.